223773 Bullies, 3902 online  
  • Register
Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast
  1. --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Escapades with Sports Drinks: The Evaluaton

Sports drinks are, for all intents and purposes, **** and marketing pieces of **** geared towards meatheads and assholes who think they're "athletes." Or something like that. I'm sorry, typo, I mean sports drinks are, for all intents and purposes, not good for you.

I've been training really hard for the past 2 months to prepare for a fight I have in August and I've been doing an experiment (single blind when applicable) wherein I've been purchasing sports drinks and energy drinks to test which ones are "the best." I've been trying to find drinks that don't require you to have an associates degree in Biochemistry and spend $1000 a month to use. Interestingly enough, this experiment only cost me $50 total over the course of 2 months. This test was done before 3 hours sessions of Judo or Kickboxing both of which required similar amounts of work and endurance on my end.

My categories for the drinks I'm going to rate are on a S-A-B-C-D-F scale. Where S = Superior and F = Fail. The categories are as follows:

Affordability - This denotes how much the drink costs in comparison with the others on the market.
    Drinkability - Taste and how easily it goes down (LIKE YOUR MOM! SNAP!)
    Endurance - Affect on my endurance. Not that it gave me mutant hero endurance or anything. But that it allowed me to train harder, longer.
    Hydration - One of the biggest things that bother me during training is hydration. when I get that gummy feeling in my mouth and my skin gets taught and my head hurts, something that hydrates me fixes it.
    Overall - This is the overall score for the drink and denotes the best bang for buck you can get from this drink.

The drinks.

Water

Water was my base test. It is available everywhere and I would compare everything to it.