Featherweight

Posted On:
    5/20/2009 9:34am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: DZR JJJ / MMA noob

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Beginner needs strength training advice

As the title hopefully suggests I'm very new to strength training and I'm in dire need of some direction. There's so much information out there that it's difficult for me to weed through it all and pick out what works for my physiology, experience and lifestyle.

Here's the background:

I'm 23, lounged through PE in high school and never did any sort of regular physical extra-curricular activity until I started training japanese jujitsu for the last couple of years. Despite the relatively lazy lifestyle I remain pretty slim; 6'0" 175lbs at present. Suddenly I developed this itch to get stronger (and bigger. This skinny thing is getting old) and joined a gym, started taking whey and casein protein, creatine and fish oil supplements and started devouring anything with a high amount of protein.

My workout typically involves preacher bicep curls, overhead tricep extensions, bench press, dual deltoid raise, and leg press. I do 4 sets of each, with 8-12 reps in each set. If I can manage 15 reps in the last set it's time to up the weight. My workouts fall on Mon/Wed/Fri and generally take about 40 minutes.

My training schedule is DanZan Ryu (Japanese) Jujitsu on Mon/Wed/Thurs/Fri and varies in intensity, but never fails to work up a decent sweat. On Monday and Wednesday my classes land immediately after finishing an eight or so hour shift. Thurs/Fri are my days off.

Any help is appreciated.

Posted On:
    5/20/2009 10:39am

Business Class Supporting Memberstaff
     Guy Who Pays the Bills and Gets the Death Threats Style: MMA (Retired)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    You're doing isolation exercises. Do lifts that hit multiple muscles at the same time and build your core strength.

Actually, just do Stronglifts (link goes to PDF).

l Travel To Get Choked!

Posted On:
    5/20/2009 11:42am

Style: Judo, BJJ