Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    5/10/2009 9:29am

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

A step in the right direction? (WC)

Hail and well met, studs! This is my first time posting here, although I have followed various threads with interest in the past few years.

I was carousing youtube looking for videos of short asian males to masturbate to, but I stumbled upon a fellow named Master Wong and his videos. Apparently, he is an instructor based in the U.K. who has experience in various martial arts. The ones that interested me, however, were his Wing Chun videos. To me, they look very promising and intriguing.

I have seen a ton of Wing Chun videos (as well as practiced it for 2 years before I had to move) which display some good sticky hands training. While I love sticky hands training, I believe it's only a part of becoming proficent in the art. You need to train in full contact scenarios (against many different styles) to properly understand REAL fighting. I cringe when I watch so called "full contact" WC sparring videos, as it always involves two guys running at each other and then launching into a fury of chain punches. The result is even worse when the WC person fights a person competent in, for example, Muay Thai. I hate chain punches and I hate styles that over use them. There is pretty much no power behind them as the people that use them in fights always end up leaning a little bit backwards (to avoid getting their head smacked off by the other guy). Not only that, but usually the punches don't even reach the other guy due to said leaning back.

On the street, against a drunk, inexpereinced opponent, the WC being taught in most schools could very well work. You don't need very much power when you strike someone in the neck/throat. Against a person who has at least some experience in boxing or other "hard" martial arts, the WC guy is going to run into a lot of trouble unless his opponent is drunk as ****.