Posted On:
    5/02/2009 10:38am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Kenpo, WMA

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Question for the Kenpo Stylists...

Hey Guys-

So, I’ve been training for close to 13 years in various forms of Kenpo (American, Shaolin, Okinawan, etc) and, in truth, I have my doubts about the style.

Ok- just too clear things up, this is not meant to start a flame war or anything. It really is an honest attempt at getting questions answered…

Has any of the Kenpo stylists here used any of the techniques in a real street encounter, where one’s life was on the line?

Josh

Posted On:
    5/05/2009 12:49am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: American Kenpo (LTKKA)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    My Life? No, I don't think my life was in danger. However I was in danger of getting a beat down. While stationed in Okinawa Japan I trained under my friend and first EPAK teacher. Sensei Luis Ramirez. Anywho... if anyone knows anything about US Marines on Okinawa... Gate 2 street is a place where people get drunk and stupid. Many a times I implimented yellow belt and beginner Orange belt techniques to nulllify threats and ...well without sounding 'too proud' laying some people out.

The thing I find that most people have a gripe w/ Kenpo is that a lot of the schools teach with 'Static Ukes'. However Luis always had us move around and try to counter the techs. For instance 'Lone Kimono' The Uke would pull your gi almost off trying to over power you...shake you.... let go after you hyper extend the arm and grab you w/ the other hand...etc. So I had experience utilizing the quick over-kill techniques in 'real life' situation with real life reactions from people.