Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    5/01/2009 10:51pm

Style: BJJ, Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Recognising Bullshido in fencing.

It would seem to be that fencing would be quite devoid of bullshido, but one can never be so sure.

I've twisted my knees three times, got hit in the face by a knee one time and got a prettyful shiner, and broke a toe one time in four months of Judo. Under pressure from my momma, I have to find a safer martial art because she's tired of me being hurt all the fucking time because of my clumsiness. I'm not a ***** but my momma is, so I'm looking for a new martial art because she pays (I'm an ultrabroke student) and she decides when it's enough.

I remembered my old love : fencing. I've done a year of fencing. It's awesome. Except I've learned it at college and that was pretty safe.

I have my eye on a school right now, accredited by the national org. But just in case someone is tryin' to yank my chain, what should I look for? I have pretty minimal fencing experience.

Light Heavyweight

Posted On:
    5/02/2009 12:48am

supporting member
     Style: Bartitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Not really my field, but I'd assume that if the fencing school is affiliated (and in good standing) with a recognized national/international body, has a decent competitive record and a good training atmosphere, it would probably be worth your time.

Posted On:
    5/02/2009 1:03am

Style: MT, Judo & BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I took a fencing class once where they told me I was allowed to bash people in the face with my forearm guard. My goal from that point onward was to tie the swords up in close range and bash people in the face with my forearm guard.

See if they let you do that. It's fun as hell.

I am a Ninja bitches!! Deal with it

Posted On:
    5/02/2009 5:55am

Join us... or die
     Style: Improv comedy

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    http://www.fencing.ca/