Portrait of a BJJer as a Young Man

Posted On:
    3/26/2009 7:31pm

Join us... or die
     Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Muscular imbalence in my back

It was brought to my attention the other day, and confirmed by MC(who will take a picture) that I have a severe muscle imbalance in my back. My right side is much bigger than my left. I think the reason for this is, I haven't don't more than a few light lifting sessions in the past couple months, so the only strength development I've gotten is on the mat and I guess I use my right arm a lot more than my left. I think this had led to some pain in my neck and right shoulder (although my shoulders are symmetrical).
    What I want to know is: what sort of exercises should I be doing to correct this imbalence? Obviously, the first thing I'm going to do is use my left are more, not only for my back, but for my jiujitsu. I was also thinking some one-arm suitcase style deadlifts and some bent presses.
    Also, just to make things more difficult, my gym doesn't have any heavy dumbells (35kg max).

I am a Ninja bitches!! Deal with it

Posted On:
    3/26/2009 7:55pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Improv comedy

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Pilates is all about dealing with stuff like that

Certified Personal Trainer and Drinker of Coffee

Posted On:
    3/27/2009 6:11pm

supporting member
     Style: SAMBO/BJJ/Judo and others

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    You may want to include some one arm rowing, shrugs, posterior deltoid, and rotor cuff exercises for that side. Pretty much just add a few extra sets on that one side in addition to your normal back routine to help strengthen that side

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/27/2009 7:57pm

Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!