Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 5 1 2345 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    3/05/2009 8:03pm

Style: kenpo, Wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Any appropriate time to do isolated lifts?

I started lifting regularly again, and I am sticking to all compound exercises: presses, squats, dead lifts, rows, etc. I have dropped all the isolated exercises, curls, tricep extensions, etc that I did the last time I lifted regularly (about 5 yrs ago).

My question: under what circumstances if any should I do any muscle isolating exercise?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/05/2009 8:56pm

Style: Hapkido/BJJ(newb)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Rehab is a good example. I like to do some rotator cuff stuff as preventative maintenance.

Dysfunctionally Strong

Posted On:
    3/05/2009 9:59pm

supporting member
     Style: Boxing/Wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Pre/re-hab, bringing up weak/lagging muscle groups, training protocol, etc.
    "Emevas,
    You're a scrapper, I like that."-Ronin69

Posted On:
    3/05/2009 10:47pm

Style: kenpo, Wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    No re-hab or anything. I will stick to the compound lifts. I can't do dips at this point, any tips for developing the strength needed for these?

Featherweight

Posted On:
    3/05/2009 10:52pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Long Fist Boxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    People that were working up to the normal dips would usually start out with the ones where you have your feet in front of you, heels touching the ground, and arms on a raised surface (we used the bench press seat).

Or you could just do those assisted ones :\

Registered Member

Posted On:
    3/06/2009 10:01am

Style: Jiu Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!