Sponsored Links Spacer Image

l Travel To Get Choked!

Posted On:
    2/26/2009 2:33pm

Style: Judo, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

She wants a gun....

So, my fiancee is in the process of joining the Rochester Police Department. Due to some physical fitness issues (re: shin splints) she failed her physical exam for this year's academy. She plans on retrying next year. However in the interim she is looking to get a head start, take some martial arts and get in some range time.

She has only fired a gun a few times years ago. I have extensive experience with rifles and shotguns but no handgun experience. So both her and I plan to start from scratch.

She also wants to purchase as her first gun the Beretta PX4 Storm in .45ACP as it is the service weapon the RPD uses. While I do not think she would have an issue controlling a .45 I worry that the cost of the gun, and ammunition would make shooting enough to become proficient prohibitive.

As for the martial arts, I plan on coercing her into Judo as it is both cheap, and widely available.

So, my questions for you oh gun nuts are these: Should she start with the PX4? How expensive is ammunition going to run? Can it be bought in bulk, and for roughly how much? Is there a better gun given the information stated above? What pearls of wisdom would you like to impart?

I feel like you eyeballin' me, dawg!

Posted On:
    2/26/2009 2:52pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by ignatzami View Post
    So, my fiancee is in the process of joining the Rochester Police Department. Due to some physical fitness issues (re: shin splints) she failed her physical exam for this year's academy. She plans on retrying next year. However in the interim she is looking to get a head start, take some martial arts and get in some range time.

She has only fired a gun a few times years ago. I have extensive experience with rifles and shotguns but no handgun experience. So both her and I plan to start from scratch.