Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    2/12/2009 2:06am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: none

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

I am looking for an art that has a good standing/striking game

Ok so i want to to become a well rounded fighter I am currently studying JuJitsu (who isn't these days) I want to learn a standing /stricking art. Muy Thai just doesn't catch me, I don't see any style in it plus it seems everyone in to MMA knows it no surprises I don't know So I am looking at Kenpo and karate--maybe considering a chinese stlye wing chun perhaps (it gave bruce lee a a good foundation). Can anyone make a a good case for any of these stlyes to train in. By the way I am built on the heavierside and natually not that fast. I know I need more speed. Thank You

Posted On:
    2/12/2009 4:58am

Style: MMA, Yoga

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I think you should start up muay thai or boxing and then branch from there. Don't dismiss it out of hand because it lacks 'style', the reason so many mma fighters use the exact same techniques is because they work.

Now by a base i mean that from a year or two of muay thai you can add some TKD spinning kicks, the side kick from Sanda, the footwork of karate and nothing from WC. Using 99% of karate (kyokushin is good) as a base won't work like this since you will need to relearn so much in order to incorporate other standup styles into it.

If this doesn't sound good to you, join the chun and pretend to train martial arts.

Ninja Fruit

Posted On:
    2/12/2009 2:42pm

Style: JKD, Jiu Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Depending on where you're comfortable and what you ultimately want out of your training, straight up western boxing might be the ticket:

If you train at a boxing gym, you'll get a couple of things -

cardio and endurance training is VITAL in boxing. They'll teach you how to get your heart and lungs in shape. As a side effect of that, you will probably lose some weight.