Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Featherweight

Posted On:
    1/23/2009 5:17pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Shohei~Ryu Karate

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Karate & Martial Arts Evolution. Is change needed or not. Lets see your thoughts

I am a traditional karate instructor as is my Sensei, and have been asked this question many times over. Will I ever incorporate MMA into my school and blend together. Will incorporating MMA be the only way to keep traditional schools going. My Sensei feels highly negative on this aspect and says we shouldnt mix styles for the respect of staying a "Traditional Karatedo". I love teaching and training with old traditional aspects and conditioning. I was just wondering if traditional instructors like me should evolve or will the ways traditionalists train without MMA be able to last? :icon_scra

Registered Member

Posted On:
    1/23/2009 5:41pm

Style: Karate, Krav Maga, BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Good karate should look like him:

Posted On:
    1/23/2009 5:51pm

Join us... or die
     Style: 剛 and 柔

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    If by MMA you mean actual combat at all ranges, yes you need to do that.

Otherwise it's akin to Japanese opera or Okinawan dance, albeit with more yelling and subjugation.

Also, wrong forum n00b.

Administrator

Posted On:
    1/23/2009 5:58pm

staff
     Style: xingyi

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by SenseiTucker