Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 4 1 234 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/27/2003 1:22pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Dojo/dojang liability Insurance Question.

I'm just curious as to how may instructo4rs out there carry liability inbsurance. I see this come up periodically when people ask about operating costs for the dojo/dojang.

The reason I ask is this. I have been teaching since 1978 and have never had liability insurance. When I was going to start my first class, I talked to my sensei about this and he told me (incorrectly I fouind out later) that the release of liability form he had all of his students sign prior to taking their first class resolved this. Of course, we all know that this isn't true, but I have talked to two lawyers on this subject over the years, and this is what they said.

If you have them sigh the release of Liability form, and also talk to them and make sure htey understand what you are doing in class (fighting, kicking at each other, takedowns, etc) and make sure the liability form is EXPRESSED liability, not just inferred liability..then in order for someone to SUCCESSFULLY sue you in court, they would have to prove negligence on my part. Both of these lawyers have gone over my Liability form and made any necessary corrections of edits to it and tell me it should be fine.

When I get a minute, I'll post the Release of Liability Form that I use.

Also, I've talked to dozens of other sensei through my travels and at tournaments and I have not found one instructor, and they have never heard of anyone, ever getting sued in a martial arts class.

Maybe I'm stupid for taking the chance..maybe I have blind faith in my students...I don't know. But I thought this might lead to some good discussion.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/27/2003 1:26pm

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Re: Dojo/dojang liability Insurance Question.

This is what I use for a Relaese of Liability Form.