Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Still digging on James Brown

Posted On:
    12/08/2008 11:25am

Style: BJJ & Judo (1k)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Teaching privates

A baby blue belt asked me last week if I might consider teaching privates and offered me 200SEK (~25USD) an hour right away. I asked him if there was anything particular he had in mind and he just said "everything". He's a very smart small guy with a great desire to be technical.

I've been the assistant instructor at our club for about a year and a half now. Since our head instructor often is away on business it's quite often down to me to plan and teach class. As I'm a student the extra money would be totally sweet. Also, some day I want to start my own club and teach there so I figure I'll have to learn about teaching privates anyway.

However I'm not entirely confident in what I could teach him. I'm pretty successful at competitions but I feel that my basics are not that good and I mostly get by on having really good balance and flexibility in my hips. My own game often deviates so much from 'the basics' that I'm not sure if it's such a good idea to try and teach it to him because it might make him a worse player.

I'm going to try and watch the guy a bit closer when he's rolling to see if there is anything specific I could help him with but other than that I don't know what I can do.

Does anyone on here have any experience teaching privates and want to share?

Dark Overlord of the Bullshido Underworld

Posted On:
    12/08/2008 11:38am

supporting member
     Style: Taai Si Ji Kung Fu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    He may just want more personal attention and other times to train which currently have nothing on the class schedule, so you might not have to sweat the details as to what to go over with him so much.

Don't forget your own instructor may prove to be a valuable resource in what to do with this guy, too.
    Calm down, it's only ones and zeros.