Posted On:
    10/31/2008 8:14am

supporting member
     Style: BJJ, MT, Yoga

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Got My Blue after 6+ years

Well after 6 years I finally got my Blue Belt. Here are some thoughts:

A blue belt does mean something if your school values both its students and its reputation. When I went out to Cali, people couldn't believe I was a white belt. Some thought I might be close to purple because of my guard (my top game stinks and i have no aggression). I also don't comete, so holding back my promotion isn't a way for my coach to sandbag at tournies.

I have been training on and off for about 6 years at varying quality of schools. For about a year I trained at Tim Burrill's school in Rhode Island which was an amazing school. Top Notch. I had to move around for a bit and went to some more sub wrestling schools where technique was like a clean air filter in your car. It is not a necessity but after a while, without changing it, things start not to run so well. I have been at my school about a year and a half and I knew there were things I needed to work on before my coach would promote me.

1: Aggression - I just lack it. I sometimes forget it is a sport and treat it more like a just a game. This leads to point #2

2: My top game is crap. I am lower level blue at best. I just don't like crushing people and prefer to work from guard, and since my guard was so good I just relied on that like one who might rely on leg locks since they can't pass the guard. My coach wanted me to focus alot on my guard passing and getting to top instead of baiting my opponent into making a mistake and trying to find an opening. Some people can take abuse while trying to pass the guard, but I am seeing more and more that is probably not the best way to go.

So before I tell you about the class last night let me list my excuses for poor performance first.