Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    8/25/2008 4:49pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Karate/Kendo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Karatedo Honma Dojo

I have been studying at Karatedo Honma Dojo for about 4 months and love it here!
    Honma Sensei is the real deal. He began training in Kyokushin Karate as a teenager in Japan and is highly experienced in other martial arts including Jiu-Jutsu and Sambo. It is actually difficult for me to list his credentials as his high level of humility restricts his talking about his own accomplishments.

I would describe the style as "Reconstructionist Karate" (this is my word, not his). He often speaks of how karate used to be a complete system; punches, kicks, throws etc. but has often been distilled into point fighting using limited techniques and targets. Our school re-incorporates these broader elements and bills itself as "Traditional and Progressive Japanese Martial Arts". There is also a lot of attention paid to delivering a proper technique with speed, accuracy, and power, not just plowing through someone with force, or tapping someone with a kick to earn a point.

There are separate classes for children and adults
    A normal adult class has around a dozen students and all Karate classes are personally taught by Honma Sensei

A typical class consists of:
    Rei
    Warm up
    Kicks, punches, and blocks from various stances and footwork
    Partnered drills and/or pad work
    Kata
    Rei
    There are breathing, strength, and conditioning exercises interspersed throughout
    Colored belts may (but are not required) to practice sparring after class
    We also have a weekly grappling class

Now The Cons: