it's all vanity

Posted On:
    8/13/2008 2:12am

Join us... or die
     Style: Kano-Gracie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Gi/No Gi Judo Question(s)

Is there any preferred order for those (like me) that would like to do both? Is having a solid no gi game an advantage when using a gi? How hard are the habits set up by gi judo to break for no gi?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    8/13/2008 3:35am

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: BJJnoob,kickboxing(hiatus

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I don't know if you have any grappling base, but speaking from personal experience, it really wasn't that hard to transition from gi to no gi. (I had no grappling experience what so ever before I started studying Judo) Really, its just about adapting the grips on the body instead of the gi. You'll have to think a little differently to set up throws, but it's not so difficult.

A very big difference I've certainly noticed is that grip fighting tends to be a lot quicker without a gi, that and you have a little less variations with throws. There's definitely some cross over into wrestling when doing no gi judo especially with grips. Also no gi randori is a bit closer up since you're grabbing each other as oppose to sleeves/lapels.

As far as ground work what I said above applies too; a few less things to grab on to, distance is a little closer, no gi chokes (obviously). You're also both a bit more slippery because of the sweat.

I don't really think you'd build many bad habits learning to grapple in a gi. And if you do, you'll adapt fairly easily. What I had trouble with was staying a bit too upright and getting ankle picked/dbl legged since i was use to people trying to throw me instead of using traditional wrestling take downs.

Learning to grapple with the gi will certainly help your overall grappling. You'll just need to change/modify certain techniques to make them work no-gi.

Dorkus Malorkus

Posted On:
    8/13/2008 4:40am

supporting member
     Style: Boxing/BJJudo/Crossfit

--