Page 2 of 6 First 123456 Last
  1. #11
    Mas's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    856
    Style
    Judo
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by pontoon
    I think this comes down to whether you'd rather lose by ippon or lose by breaking your neck. It's utterly stupid to risk serious injury just to prevent "losing" randori, let alone a competition.
    Depending on the enormity of the competition. For local tourneys competitors should certainly not care less. But for high calibur judoists fighting in the elite tournaments like the Olympics, it's perfectly understandable.

    For randori, and low level tournaments, certainly it is not worth it. But if you put the sweat, blood, and tears into training for Olympic level play I can see not wanting to concede a single score.


  2. #12

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    171
    Style
    Judo
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

    For randori, and low level tournaments, certainly it is not worth it. But if you put the sweat, blood, and tears into training for Olympic level play I can see not wanting to concede a single score.
    I can totally understand that. I'm just peeved because i broke an arm trying to avoid a throw at a comp a few weeks ago. :new_puppy

  3. #13
    TheMightyMcClaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Ann Arbor, MI
    Posts
    3,482
    Style
    MMA
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I have more problems with the fact that the rules emphasize uke's landing position more than tori's. That is, as long as uke lands flat on his back, it doesn't seem to matter what tori does.
    I've seen a good number of Ippon's from rolling uchimata's and the like which, if not for the fact that tori got an Ippon and won the fight, would've resulted in him getting bridged over and quite likely pinned.
    It's probably just the BJJ player in me, but I object to people winning fights with throws that leave them in bad positions.

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    444
    Style
    ukemi & tapping out
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    It probably goes back to the assumption that for practical applications the throw would be performed on a hard surface. If tori falls with the throw it should be a controlled fall that would result in little damage to tori, but still result in uke taking a hard fall onto their back.

  5. #15
    Bustardo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Flint, MI
    Posts
    642
    Style
    BJJ/Pekiti Tersia/Hsing-I
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    My Judo Instructor was talking about how he hurt his back pretty badly by bridging trying to avoid an ippon. For some reason it doesn't seem smart to me.

  6. #16
    cyrijl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Boston, MA
    Posts
    3,792
    Style
    BJJ, MT, Yoga
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    At some tournies, purposely landing on your head (if you are the tori) can get you DQ-ed for the entire day. I am not sure why this would not apply to the uke.
    There is no cheating, there is only jiu-jitsu.

  7. #17

    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    University of South Florida
    Posts
    621
    Style
    Grappling
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    One time when I was rolling in judo class, someone got me in a hip throw, but I rerolled him ending up on top. (You got to love wrestling). Anyway, I ended up on top of him in side control, but he said that he won via ippon because even though I ended up on top, my back still hit the ground first.

    If he was correct about this, I can see a glaring problem with the ippon rule right there. Anyway, if anyone could clarify this for me that would be great.

  8. #18

    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    444
    Style
    ukemi & tapping out
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    If you landed on your back then he did 'win' via ippon. This is one of those situations were throwing with control should be more strictly defined for ippon.

  9. #19

    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3,119
    Style
    Aikido,Judo
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    The rules are a little lax these days when it comes to ippon. I see it called when the thrown person's back hits the floor. There used to be a requirement about being controlled throughout and after the throw onto the back. It was still the ref and corner judges opinion but ippon was a little harder to get and wazari was more frequently given. (and then came Koga)

  10. #20

    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    291
    Style
    Hapkido, Judo
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I believe AAU Judo rules state that even if the uke bridges to avoid his back touching the mat, the throw is still considered an ippon. (Assuming his back would have touched if he had not bridged.)

Page 2 of 6 First 123456 Last

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Log in

Log in
Single Sign On provided by vBSSO