Posted On:
    8/08/2008 2:34pm

Join us... or die
     Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Chris Van Valkenburg, ImpactHouse MMA - Final Investigative Article

INTRODUCTION

"My name is Chris Van Valkenburg. I am the main trainer and manager of the Impact House Gym. I am a professional fighter out of New Jersey and hold a blackbelt in Brazilian Jui-Jitsu and Taekwondo."

Concise, to the point, no fluff list of credentials...just the way it should be, right?

Maybe...provided everything contained in those three sentences, with the exception of the name, is not an outright lie.

This is where the investigation into the credentials and training history of Mr. Chris Van Valkenburg began, a seemingly innocuous initial post asking if anyone in Florida knew this guy and stating that “You guys might wanna look in to this”, on this thread.

Impact House & Chris Van Valkenburg - BJJ Blackbelt? - No BS Martial Arts

Well, the Bullies (GoldenJonas, SORT14, and Cankles) did “look in to it” and what was discovered was that Chris Van Valkenberg (hereinafter “CVV”),

1. Has absolutely NO rank in BJJ, let alone the coveted Black Belt;
    2. has absolutely no MMA, boxing, or kickboxing fight record, professional or amateur;
    3. has absolutely no proof that he had ever fought any Muay Thai matches as he claimed;
    4. has never trained under Renzo Gracie; and
    5. was unable, or unwilling, to provide any information confirming the existence of the instructor (Dan or Mike Andersen or Anderson) who he claimed awarded him a Black Belt in an unidentified grappling style in New Jersey.

Here is how it went down...

PART I: Chris who?

Impact House MMA was located off of US Highway 1, in Building 3 Unit 6, Ormond Beach, Florida, about 1.5 miles south of I-95 on U.S.1.

The MySpace page for Impact House MMA, which has since been taken down, originally read as follows:

And had the following marketing flyer which was designed by CVV was found on the schools MySpace page: