Page 1 of 36 1 234511 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    7/09/2008 1:29am

Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

I said I wouldn't knock Aikido until I tried it. Well, I tried it.

Background: I've been doing JJJ for seven months, a yellow belt with 2 stripes (don't worry, it's really cheap and all stripes and promotions are free).

Monday I took an Aikido class. I'm glad to have gone, if for nothing else than to confirm what I've heard here about it.

The fighting stance, of course has the hands very low, in front of the gut, with the hands open and fingers relaxed.

After a fine warm up, our first technique was naturally a wrist grab defense. If their left hand grabs your left arm, just slide in front of them, while lifting your left hand and grabbing their right elbow with your right hand to put them in an arm lock.

So dude and I are doing the technique when I, in the course of taking the technique, step in front of his leg, blocking his hips and taking a ton of pressure off his arm lock. Wrong! Says sensei. You see, in the course of stepping to block dude from being right by my side (and maybe uchi mata-ing him), I lost! I adjusted my balance and posture to my advantage, which in aikido is a bad move. Also, sensei with a straight face told me that when I stepped to block dude's from really getting the arm lock, I would hit my knee into my own chest. Taking a step could result in me hitting my own chest with my knee.