Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    6/25/2008 4:26pm

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Building skill level at a new BJJ club

Well, it's been a long time to this point.

I've been teaching my instructor's kids class for the past 4 years, in between everything else, and finally, a few weeks ago, I got the opportunity to teach my own adult classes at a new club, run out of one of my training partner's Aikido dojo, as head instructor. I have people wanting to train, marketing in progress, the works. The first class begins this evening.

Whilst I have a pretty good idea how to teach, I need to ask one question of the established instructors posting here: What measures do you think helped build up the skill level in your clubs? Whilst I have been one of the senior members at my academy for the last year or so, I haven't really had to build a group of newbie white belts up to a decent level. Any tips that you could possibly have would be greatly appreciated.

Exasperated.

Posted On:
    6/25/2008 6:16pm

supporting member

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    This doesn't help at all, but the answer is:
    A critical mass of blues and purples.

When I started at my school you were lucky if there was more than one or two blues there. Damn lucky if you ever got to roll with one of the purples. Now days people go from newbies to solid much more quickly because there are better training partners.

Aside from that one of my favorite randori drills is also one that I think has been the most helpful. 3 minute rounds starting in back (down), then back (up), mount, side, half, in guard, opponent in your guard, under half, under side, under mount, etc. Exhausting but really drills the positions (and escapes). Either with or without subs (reset when position escaped.)

Jiu Jitsu - Sometimes passing just isn't an option.

Posted On:
    6/25/2008 7:31pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ, Unauthorized Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!