Our Sponsors:

Page 1 of 31 1 234511 ... LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    5/30/2008 11:01pm

Style: Judo+soon 2b bjj,boxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Tae Kwon Do: Originally Japanese Kicking Art!?

Sorry I had to remove some stuff here, but I just wanted to make sure everyone is clear on the topic addressed in my OP:

Quote Originally Posted by ZenOfAnger
    To make a few things clear:

*I am no expert on TKD history, but just want as much truth as possible.

*This thread is not meant to make the person who told me this look stupid or mean (he is really a nice guy, but is"strongly opinionated" when he talks about other styles) , but to show his ignorance of other arts, and his attempt to show knowledge of other arts without evidence.

*No. I don't believe this one bit.

*Would like links to find out more on the history of TKD

*Am not offended if Errant moves this thread to the YMAS forum.
    .................................................. ....

I was told by him that:

* TKD was originally intended for JAPANESE soldiers and karatekas to help improve their kicks, and was only ment as such. Not to be its own independent art.

*Americans took TKD back to the states and is the real reason why TKD is so bad.
    (this I sort of agree on)

* Tae Kwon Do, or any other spelling of this word, is derived from the JAPANESE language!?
    (Errant, you know more on this subject by far)

This story, I must say left me speechless for quite a while, until I finally asked, "Well, where's the evidence you have to prove this?"
    yada yada yada .................