Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    5/28/2008 11:55am

Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Learning style for BJJ- HELP!

So I've done MA most of my life with CMA taking up the better part of my experience. There aren't any CMA schools that interest me where I currently live (they all do Wushu/Tai-Chi while I prefer Sanshou), and I had been wanting to learn grappling for a while so about a year ago I started training at what basically amounts to the only BJJ school in town. Before I get too far into this I want to stress that I'm NOT bad mouthing my school, but I am afraid that it may not be a good fit for me personally. My other options for grappling are limited- A Judo school in the mall which caters to little kids and "Strongly discourages competition because that's againts the spirit of Judo", and the local MMA gym. The MMA place has really great facilities, but the way they teach is on a "level" system. So you start at level one which is basic MMA conditioning, then eventually "test" to get the right to go to the next level of class. It's not set up so that you can just go and learn grappling. Plus, the place seems to have guys coming out of it with VERY serious injuries on a very regular basis. There's one other Judo school I found today, but I think they've closed...

So here's the issue. I'm not a visual learner. Never have been. It doesn't matter how many times you show me the move. If I'm not doing it, I'm not "getting it". Additionaly I'm use to having basic principles broken down from day one. At my school you sort of have to pick them up as you go and put the pieces in place as you get them so you tend to have to learn a lot of things "retroactively". For example, I was there for almost four months before we had a class on "the basic do's and don'ts of Guard". Also, yes, I did and do ask for help with these things, but it's usually not the most fruitfull advice.