Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    5/27/2008 9:52pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: BJJ, Judo, Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Mobile vs. Controlling BJJ

Sorry, Im new here so this may have already came up. Im a white belt in BJJ but I think Im going to get my blue belt soon (entered 4 tournaments, placed first in 3).
    Anyway, I have just come across one of my biggest revelations yet. I have always been a guard guy since the place where I started training is full of big strong guys and I am not very big (5'6 160lbs) so bottom is the place I ended up playing most. I have tried to work side mount and mount but If the guy is big he usually reverses me. Now, I know how to hold them down for the most part but If i attempt to submit them I cant really focus on keeping them down, and I get flipped. My coach who is a pretty small guy ( probably 5'1 120lbs) told me that small guys like us cant put our weight on big guys and we should instead stay light on them and us our speed intead. Well I was sceptical at first but I tried it out and it is proably the best thing that has ever happened to my jiu jitsu game yet. As soon as I started doing it, probably the second day of me trying it, I tapped out 2 blue belts that I beat on very rare occasion, and when I did beat them it was ONLY from the bottom. It got to the point where after getting a sweep my opponent was trying to hold me on top of him instead of trying to create space to escape because he said I was moving too fast for him to control. So now Im trying to perfect my new style of top game.
    An example of it is when, instead of taking full mount, I go to knee on belly and I dont really put any weight there either ( basically enough for a ref to give me points in tournament but not enough for my opponent to feel it). When they turn into me, I spin in the north/south direction and I take their back or at least get over/under hooks and one hook.