Crappler Extraordinaire

Posted On:
    5/20/2008 12:44am

supporting member
     Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Ow! my shoulder!

So I took my recently purchaced 30-30 out shooting this weekend and have a nice rifle-butt sided bruise on my shoulder to prove it:

That was from about 30 rounds. I pulled the stock into my shoulder as tight as I could but it still hurt quite a bit. Is it normal to expect this kind of wear on the body from that many rounds or am I doing something wrong? Anyone have recomendations for gear (padding) to help reduce this problem? I'm a rifle noob and could use the help.

...is THE PENETRATOR

Posted On:
    5/20/2008 12:54am

supporting member
     Style: German longsword, .45 ACP

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Hmm. Well I've got an old Mosin Nagant from 1942 in 7.62x54 Russian, and the stock is just hard wood with a steel plate. I always fire it in a tee shirt. But I never get bruised from it, and I've fired up to around 30 rounds at a session.

Padding could work. I've been showing my mom the rudiments of how to fire a shotgun, and even when we were using bird shot she was a bit uncomfortable with the recoil and the stress on the shoulder. Because of pain she didn't want to shoot more than around 3 shells each practice session. But we just stopped by Bass Pro Shop, picked up the cheapest shock absorber for the stock, and now she's totally comfortable firing many rounds.

But, the first question I guess you should answer is whether or not your form is good. Good form is important on many levels, including not hurting yourself when firing.
    “nobody shoots anybody in the face unless you’re a hit man or a video gamer.” - Jack Thompson
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Th...%28attorney%29

Portrait of a BJJer as a Young Man

Posted On:
    5/20/2008 1:01am

Join us... or die
     Style: BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Wounded Ronin