Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    5/16/2008 11:54pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Karate

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

A question about Chi Do Kwan/Jidokwan

(reposting this question from my introduction thread in Newbieton)

Years ago (like in the last ice age) I studied Shotokahn in Laramie Wyo. for a few months. I wish I had had the dough to continue with the class, but I was a poor, starving college student and there was only so much starvation I was willing to endure.

In February this year, I got back into the martial arts with my kids when we started classes in Chi Do Kwan, which is closely related to Shotokahn if my research can be trusted.

I have a question, if anyone might know the answer to it ....

In researching about Chi Do Kwan on the net, I came across the information about Tae Kwon Do and the various Korean Kwans that gave it birth in it's modern form. I've seen both Chi Do Kwan and Jidokwan mentioned and would like to know if these were two different schools or if Chi Do Kwan is simply a romanization of Jidokwan? I'm inclined to believe the latter, though from some of the articles, the former case is implied.

If anyone knows which is the case, I would be interested in hearing about it.

Thank you in advance for any info you have :)

God Bless,
    mik

Registered Member

Posted On:
    5/21/2008 10:02am

Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I've never seen it spelled like that, but it's entirely possible. It's also entirely possible that some one just thought that sounded like a good name for a taekwondo school/style.

Does your club call the school or the style 'chi do kwan'? I know plenty of clubs that use the name Jidokwan in various ways, but they just teach WTF/Kukkiwon taekwondo, essentially. Some may trace their lineage back to a Jidokwan instructor, but their style is often indistinguishable from the school down the road that can trace its lineage back to the Moodukkwan or Chungdokwan.