Featherweight

Posted On:
    5/10/2008 9:40pm

supporting member
     Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Stupid and purely academic question about chokes

I was at a Phil Porter Judo seminar today (Yes, I know he has McDojo leanings, but he know his **** when it comes to Judo) and he was discussing chokes. He described how most properly executed chokes apply pressure to the carotid sinus which stimulates the vagus nerve to slow down the heart. As a paramedic I'm familiar with the physiology behind this, and something occurred to me- vagal manuevers will not work on people who have had a heart transplant, so theoretically it would be extremely difficult if not impossible to choke a transplant patient out. I realize that it's probably a moot point, since I'm not likely to run across a heart patient in the ring, but that being said, I'm sure someone somewhere has trained with someone who has had a transplant, and I'd like to know if this is true or not.

Personally, I'd like to try it out on someone, but I'm pretty sure the quickest way to be kicked out of the CCU is to start randomly choking people, even if done in the name of science.
    Smoke crack and worship Satan.

Posted On:
    5/10/2008 9:42pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Kickboxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by gimpface
    I'd like to try it out on someone, but I'm pretty sure the quickest way to be kicked out of the CCU is to start randomly choking people, even if done in the name of science.
    No. You should randomly choke out your patients. Dont forget to video it for our amusement.

Featherweight

Posted On:
    5/10/2008 9:49pm

supporting member

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Yeah, I can see that in my report now:

Pt c/o feeling suicidal and lonely. Checked for bruits and performed carotid sinus massage, rendering Pt unconscious. I then stole his wallet and spit in his face.

BJJ might make you a better ground fighter, but Judo will make you a better dancer.