Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    4/06/2008 5:35pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: kenpo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

is kali any good for the streets?

PLEASE someone give it to me straight - is kali any good for street self defense against the typical road-rage idiot? Does it take several years to become half way proficient? Seems that good info on kali is as hard to find as a good school. BTW, I plan on moving to denver within a few months; any good kali schools in denver?

Posted On:
    4/06/2008 5:54pm

Style: kenpo, Wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Straight up, only proven method for taking on streets.

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...Jackhammer.jpg

U.S. Army

Posted On:
    4/07/2008 12:09am

supporting member
     Style: FMA, CMA, & more

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I started studying Modern Arnis with Datu Kelly Worden about 6 weeks ago with my 12 year old son. In that 6 week period, with 2 classes per week available, we've only missed 2 classes.

During sparring in class (wearing face/head protection and using minimally padded sticks), my son is able, with startling regularity, to pull off roof blocks with counters against more experienced adult students.

I've been studying martial arts for 23 years, and that includes some time doing FMA as well. Based on my experience, I'd have to say that, for flat out self-defense, armed and unarmed against armed and/or unarmed opponents, FMA definitely has a faster learning curve than many other arts. If I gave my son a rattan stick or a collapsible baton, and had to bet on him versus an unarmed adult or an adult armed with a similar weapon, right now my money would be on my son. If he was against multiple opponents, or a single opponent with a knife or machete (weapons you can't really "suck up" hits from), I'd say he'd lose. But that's right now...