Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Posted On:
    3/14/2008 10:17pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Taekwondo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Legit dojo or McDojo?

I just started training with this instructor who seems to emphasize more a mixed martial arts style than anything else. A number of his dojo tendencies suggest it may have McDojo leanings:

-- Our testing for belt advancement emphasizes sparring combinations, self-defense, and forms. Luckily, no board breaking.

-- Yes, they do hold birthday parties (I guess rent and overhead costs are expensive).

-- He's been training since 1970 and received his first black belt at the age of 9 (he also had a tough life growing up, losing both parents at a very young age). A local taekwondo teacher took him under his wing (the instructor is only referred to as 'Mr. Kim.' I'm guessing this might be a pretty common name in Korea so it's somewhat difficult to verify and confirm!)

-- He now holds ranks in many styles: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, Aiki Jiu-Jitsu, Aikido, and has recently been awarded a silver life award in the Martial Arts Hall of Fame.

The characteristics that suggest legitimacy:
    -- No long term contracts
    -- In the classes I've taken with him (now going on 8 months), he emphasizes self-defense techniques and often says being able to defend ourselves in our daily lives is of utmost importance to him.
    -- I have yet to see any extensive sparring (and it might be limited to "higher level" -- green and above -- belts). He holds a special black belt class only on Tuesdays -- I should get down to the dojo and check it out and watch. We have had one class where we did shadow sparring, with no contact (his emphasis).

So what questions should I ask him to establish his legitimacy? Has anyone had this experience where you train for a few months, but wonder if what you're learning is legit?

Thanks for any feedback,
    Tony

MADE OF STEEL!

Posted On:
    3/14/2008 10:19pm

supporting member