Featherweight

Posted On:
    2/17/2008 5:32pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Goju Ryu Karate

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Kempo Clips Is this really BS?

BJJ might make you a better ground fighter, but Judo will make you a better dancer.

Posted On:
    2/17/2008 5:41pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Yes, if you study that style an attacker will rue the day he ever lunge punched you.

Seriously, what do you think. Ever been in a fight where the guy just stood there with his arm held out?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    2/17/2008 6:12pm

Style: brazillian jiu jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    alright, my chance to vent. I studied Kosho Ryu Kempo for 7 years, and was close to my black belt. I even met and trained with Hanshi during a few seminars. I put a lot of time, hard work, and money into it. After 7 years I decided to spar with somebody I knew who had taked BJJ for about 6 months. He quickly took me down and arm barred me. It was horrible to realize that all of that time and money had been wasted. Kosho Ryu is like a combo of karate and aikido. It is based on the "octogon" (eight angles to move to during attacks) and manipulation of body parts to control the body. The idea is that any push of a body part (like a swinging arm) creates a pulling part (like the opposite shoulder). If you manipulate one part by stopping it's motion, hyperextending it's motion, etc. in unintended angles (on x,y, and z axis) you will screw up the attack and the attackers balance. They also use things like "female percussion strikes" for disorientation, and generally only use a real strike after "messing up your attack and balance" enough that you are incredibly vunerable. It looks good on paper; for example, if a person punches at you, and you step at a 45 degree angle on the other side of the punch while pushing the shoulder, it makes sense that they would miss you and lose their balance. Unfortunately, none of this actually happens in real