Posted On:
    2/01/2008 9:57pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: goju ryu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

UMaine Shotokan Club

Hi guys! First post olol!

I studied Goju Ryu for about three years, six years ago. In the interrem, I got pretty decent at grappling, but developed a serious case of suck in striking and stances.

This club is a good one. I hesitate to call it a school, since it's pretty informal, and since it meets in an old basketball gymn court. On the other hand, it's free, and everybody's form is really tight (even lower belts all have good stances and strong strikes). The only floppy punches or off balance stances I see are from white belts, and most people can kick a whole lot harder than me.

We do touch sparring and grappling about once a month. No full contact sparring. Class twice a week for an hour, plus half an hour beginner class once a week before class, and a 1-hour advanced class once a week after class. A good mix of padwork, drills, kata, and self-defense stuff.

The good: :icon_thum

-Strong membership (15ish people on average), good mix of upper and lower belts.
    -Great basics!
    -Upper belts are skilled and experienced, many with good fight experience.
    -Free!

The bad :eusa_naug

-Too informal. Too few people bow entering and leaving. Not nerely enough discipline - I feel like I'm the only one who stands in a good ready stance for more than five seconds, sometimes. I am definitely the only one who sits in zazen.
    -No money = not much equipment. We only have enough mats for one pair to grapple at a time, or for two groups to practice falling, throwing, and rolling. Sparring equipment is limited and run down. There's no punching bag.
    -Conditioning is scaled for a VERY mixed class.

The ugly :wtfgif9fr

-No training or practice of takedowns or takedown defence!!!
    -No training of weapon use or defence against weapons!
    -No practice of kicks below the belt, or of knee strikes (wtf?!)