Featherweight

Posted On:
    12/30/2007 3:47pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Jujitsu, BJJ - injured

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Adapting throws to no-gi.

As a complete novice (and I freely admit this, so please play nice) I was wondering which are the best throws to adapt from judo and jujitsu for use in BJJ and vale tudo, which we started a few months ago.
    Should I concentrate on the ones I am best at - for me this is generally sacrifice throws - or go for something a bit simpler, like leg sweeps, since it's about practicality and not looking fantastic?

If I do use throws like stomach (where I usually wind so I'm on top in a mount), how do you do this without a gi, since it usually involves grabbing onto something like the lapels.
    Last edited by Rhea_IR; 12/30/2007 4:00pm at .

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/30/2007 4:11pm

Style: Judo, Brazilian Jiu Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    There are several techniques that adapt well to No Gi Techniques. Several Sweeps and almost every Hip Technique. It depends on what particular Technique you are looking for.

Train Hard, Stay Safe,
    Good Luck

Combat Judo Academy
    Scarola BJJ

Featherweight

Posted On:
    12/30/2007 4:21pm

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Luckily, our JJ club never believed in holding onto the gi, unless it was necessary to the throw (like a gi or lapel throw) because it's kind of useless to rely on it. in case you have something that will rip to pieces on the other person.
    Is keeping throws of mine that would score ippon a good idea, as I'm sure you'd want the person on their back so you can get a stronger position to start a ground game?
    Are there any that are particularly dangerous for landing in someone's guard?

Woke up in the mortuary

Posted On:
    12/30/2007 6:47pm

Style: Judo, Sub wrestling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Ouchi gari and sometimes kouchi gari can be troublesome but can be adapted to avoid landing in full guard at least.