Achievements:
    Veteran5000 Experience Points

Posted On:
    12/29/2007 8:28pm

Style: gah, transition again

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

"Help the noob" - programming, etc

Hey all. This morning (approx 1 hour/2 hours ago) I hit the gym and subsequently the weights for the first time in probably a few months. Now, when I've usually discussed matters on this subforum I quickly admit my lifting history has been infrequent and poor, so for all intents and purposes I'm a slightly informed noob. Now, like many noobs I would imagine, I hit a real road block and couldn't do a full body workout, which was only about 5 or 6 exercises, because I gassed. I was shaking, sweating, gasping for air, and my brain was screaming "Flee! Bail! Leg it!" so my abs and back really didn't get much of a workout, and my shoulders only really as stabilisers (still hit them pretty hard, though). I need your advice, o wizened lifters of this subforum, 'cause I really want to kick my ass into strength and shape and I figure if I'm not hitting my core and back then I'm failing that.

As of now (post workout) I weight 77 kg (remember I just sweat a fair bit, then drank a fair amount of water and then a protein shake) and am about 180 something centimetres tall. I'm 18. I opted to use dumbells for these exercises, as that was what I was doing at home, and there was no one around to help me figure out the nuances of the squatting or bench racks.
    So, here's what happened:
    3 sets benchpress: First set was a bit of a warmup, 10 kg dumbells each hand- stopped at about 15 reps, as I was pretty much warmed up (mmm, lactic burn). Second set, 15 kg, about 8-9 reps. Third set, 15 kg (I had intended to pyramid the weight, but I figured I was doing alright with these two weights), only got about 4 reps before I gave out (had a guy spotting me).