Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/25/2007 3:51pm

Style: *********

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Mikhail Ryabko Lineage: A working hypothesis

From the start please note that this is my current hypothesis based on the best research I have at hand. The Russians are currently being very tight lipped about lineages, mostly because they are trying to clean up their bios. For the most part the contacts I have in Russia say that the founders of the various systems realize how their marketing has hurt them, and are trying to make things right. So I have been putting pieces together, and this is the picture I generally have forming in my head right now.

First we have the "Young Master" video which clearly demonstrates Mikhail learning something Asian, to me it looks a great deal like Kung-Fu, but aside from KMAs and Judo, I have no real experience with Asian MAs other than what I have seen at tourneys. However what is demonstrated in the Vid(and he was probably only a teen at the time) is definitely not Russian in origin.

Ok then we have his bio. Not the bio posted on the American sight, I do not know who does the posting there or where the information comes from, but from what his national representitive here in Israel told me and I quote, "the information there is not reliable." I do not hold Ryabko at all responsible for this as he neither reads nor speaks English. So his bio on the english version of his sight and the Russian side says the same
    Mikhail Vasilevich Ryabko one of the founders and developer of Russian warrior traditions and also the main insrtructor of Systema - the martial art of ancient Russia. Born 6 th May, 1961 in Belorussia.
    - In 1976 after completing form 8 he entered Agricultural and Technical School.
    - From 1981 to 1983: Military service for USSR.
    - From 1983 to 1993: he worked in the Security servise of tne Ministry of Interior Affairs of USSR, training security personnel from the Ministry.