Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/25/2007 9:16am

Style: Muay Thai

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Affordable Boxing Gloves?

I'm starting at a new MT club in January, and I want to get some gloves (old club provided them). The only ones available locally are Everlast, which are apparently tiny and hard to make a fist with. I've got fairly big hands, so this would suck.

Any ideas for affordable, but decent gloves for bagwork/pads and sparring? I'm a student, so I don't have 45 or silly money. Ebay/Amazon are fine, as long as the P&P isn't stupid.

Also, is it worth picking up a pair of MMA gloves for bagwork/upcoming Bullshido throwdowns (i'd imagine boxing gloves would be a disadvantage in MMA sparring)? A friend just upgraded his and I was tempted to make an offer for the old ones (after washing them, lol).

Posted On:
    12/25/2007 1:29pm

Style: TKD, MT, KEMPO

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    My coach recommends Grant brand gloves. Avoid Everlast, I've had and seen nothing but problems with there stuff. Apparently, they are one of those brands that made a big name (pitney bowes, xerox and most of the US cars made today) and now puts out crap, like many other companies. It's kind of like those clothes my 14 year old niece wears- they have big huge brand names on them, just so you know who made them, lest you realize that it is cheaply made- i.e. Armani Exchange, etc.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/25/2007 6:30pm

Style: Karate

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by new2bjj