Welterweight

Posted On:
    12/17/2007 10:22pm

supporting member
     Style: BJJ/Kickboxing

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

new to weight training - 3x10?

I've been off and on with weight training for the past year but have finally dedicated myself to getting in at least 3 times a week for weights.

I've always felt weak for my weight in grappling competition (155lbs), my goal is to increased my overall strength and muscle endurance without putting on too much weight. I walk around at ~160-162 but have some fat to lose (probably no more than 10 lbs).

I've been doing a lot of squats, deadlifts, overhead squats, pullups, dips, in sets of 3x10 for simplicity's sake. I was reading a thread just now about 3x10 being more for mass gaining and 4-5 reps for strength. Does this apply to me as well being new to weight training? If so, how can I convert what I lift now at 3x10 to 5-rep sets, and how many sets of those?

I've been increasing my weights slowly as I'm still learning proper form and so don't want to push too hard, but I'm rarely sore more than a day after training if even... I think I can do more. Right now I'm squatting 175, deadlifting 165 and overhead squatting 95lbs. I plan on adding some bench press but I'm a bit wary as I don't have someone working with me regularly to spot.

thoughts?

How do Chameleon Circuit?

Posted On:
    12/17/2007 10:45pm

Style: jkd

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Angry-Monkey
    I've been off and on with weight training for the past year but have finally dedicated myself to getting in at least 3 times a week for weights.

I've always felt weak for my weight in grappling competition (155lbs), my goal is to increased my overall strength and muscle endurance without putting on too much weight. I walk around at ~160-162 but have some fat to lose (probably no more than 10 lbs).