Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    12/11/2007 8:01pm

Style: BJJ, MACP (hiatus)

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Combat Jujitsu-How to gain the advantage on the ground, by Carl Cestari

Okay, given the visibility of Carl Cestari and the Wolfpack in recent weeks, I was requested to review some of Carl's groundfighting material with an eye toward how it can benefit the service member in particular and the public in general.

As for my background, I'm a white belt in Machado Jiu-Jitsu under Jamel McCurry. I've had quite a bit of exposure to the Modern Army Combatives Program, but have not gotten a slot at the schoolhouse yet. I've had a couple years experience in Japanese Jiu-jitsu while stationed in Germany and some Judo exposure (approximately one year) as a child. I am fair with a knife, but my experience comes from random exposure to instructors over the years, nothing comprehensive.

I have, however, been in the Army for over thirteen years, with multiple foreign deployments. I've lived in field gear in its various incarnations over the years, and know what I would and would not want to have to do while wearing it.

So, without any further ado, my take on Carl's material:

The video opens with some words from Carl on what will be covered in the video. I should point out that he assumes some level of grappling experience from the viewer; this is not a video for someone who doesn't know an Osoto-gari from an Omoplata. This video is aimed at the person who wants to "tweak" their grappling to make it more applicable to "street" use.