Sponsored Links Spacer Image

How do elenchus?

Posted On:
    12/01/2007 8:33pm

Style: gah, transition again

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Posture

I have a bad back, and subsequently, horrible posture. Not as in constant pain bad, but as in "Man, it really shouldn't look like that" bad. Scoliosis and lordosis. I hunch forwards and slouch a lot, terrible posture. I've been lifting (fairly lightly, I'm a noob and a weakling) on and off for years now, and all of this started when I was recommended to see a personal trainer/proffessional bodybuilder bud of my chiropractor's, who in an effort to fix my spine gave me a basic workout full of isolation exercises for the whole body, back included. A few years of not doing that later, and I returned to the trainer, and got "Do benchpress with dumbells, squats with dumbells, and stiff legged deadlifts with dumbells" and otherwise a green light to do whatever I felt like.

So, I turn to the noble lifters of bullshido: HOW DO FIX POSTURE/BACK!?!?!?! I think this is a "Help the noob, plz" with somewhat of a twist, but basically I'm interested in y'all's opinions on what constitutes a good overall workout that especially targets the back and improves posture. For example, I'm of the impression working the frontal shoulders hunches on forwards, so by that logic are there muscles that should be particularly worked to pull the shoulders backwards? I'm guessing that any exercise that targets or uses the erector spinae as a synergist are good for the purpose of straightening one's back? I'm 18, about 184 centimetres, (or approx. 6'1), and about 70ish kilos, and a bit pudgy in the belly, so my interest in lifting is both to improve my back and my general health and muscularity.

Any advice would be appreciated, especially from those who've experienced low/mid/upper back problems or just know a thing or two about them. Thanks in advance!
    Last edited by socratic; 12/01/2007 8:35pm at .

and good morning to you too

Posted On: