Page 1 of 2 12 Last
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Mountain Martial Arts - NJ Jundokan

Hello all,

I am a complete noob both to the forums and the martial arts. I am about *this* close to joining a Goju-Ryu dojo in Monroe, New Jersey called "Mountain Martial Arts", aka the New Jersey Jundokan. Sensei is Mark Kapel. I understand from his website

http://www.newjerseyjundokan.com/index.html

that he is a BB 5th dan and regularly travels to Okinawa to study at the Jundokan there. I read somewhere that he is or has been involved with training or teaching with Sensei Chuck Merriman. Does anyone have any pertinent information regarding this dojo and its legitimacy? I read some very impressive-sounding stuff on the site, and I seem to be able to piece together some sort of official connection with the "home base" in Okinawa, but before I commit and spend some serious coin, I want the best advice I can get.

Love the site and the dedication to MA as well as the great humor. Keep it up.

Arigato gozaimasu,

FatFists ("FF")

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    this belongs in newbietown i think.

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I don't see anything on the website which seems overtly fraudulent. I'd say it certainly looks, from the outside at least, like it's on the up-and-up. It seems rather tame and professional, in my humblest of opinions.

Incidentally, this dojo is only about a half an hour from me. FatFists, whereabouts in Jersey are you?

--Joe

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    There are no mountains in NJ, definately Bullshido. Of course Rather Large Hill Martial Arts has much less of a ring to it so I suppose some artistic license is in order.

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Quote Originally Posted by Vorpal
    There are no mountains in NJ, definately Bullshido. Of course Rather Large Hill Martial Arts has much less of a ring to it so I suppose some artistic license is in order.
    *coughAppalachianscough*