Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/20/2007 1:45am

Style: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Guys, apparently nutrition has an effect on training...

I think I have been starving myself. Not literally, as my little spare tire around the middle can attest. But for the past several months I've pretty much hit a brick wall as far as endurance goes. I've made some progress, but I am usually gassed half way through an hour of Muay Thai training (it's the pad work that kills me), and the rest of the hour is spent panting and pulling teeth trying to push myself to get through it all (maybe I push myself too hard in the beginning...from the time I started training I almost always gas around the same point, half-way through class). I always make myself finish the class, but my technique gets sloppy and I don't feel like it's beneficial at that point.

And then last weekend I totally pigged out. I mean pasta, sweet potatos, a lentil and sweet potato curry, salad, cookies, truffles, beer, wine, more cookies. Oh my god I was stuffed. But, when I trained today I felt like I had twice the energy as usual, and I didn't run out of steam. I think I'm going to write a book called the cookies and beer martial arts training diet.

But seriously, I think I really need to look at my nutrition. I am vegetarian, and I used to be one of those strict vegan psychos. At least I gave that up a few years ago. But I still don't think I'm getting enough calories for my exercise regimen.

My current diet consists of roughly:

Breakfast
    - 8 oz. of grape nuts with soy milk, or one bagel with peanut butter or cream cheese.
    - 8 oz of orange juice or other fruit juics.
    - coffee

Lunch
    - vegetable or vegetarian curry dish with rice, or sometimes a veggie burrito.

Light snacks throughout the day
    - mixed nuts
    - chips

Dinner
    - once or twice a week: veggie burrito (with cheese but no sour cream)