Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/14/2007 12:30pm

Style: Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

An analysis of Breaking from a non-Martial-Artist

I know that the topic of Breaking is not a new one for Bullshido, but I thought people might find this interesting. I somehow managed to bring up the subject in casual conversation with a buddy of mine. This friend is not a martial artist, but he is a structural engineer, by trade. His entire profession revolves around understanding how materials can support different forces, and what causes failure in such systems.

Here are his hand-written notes on the subject (in Adobe Acrobat format):
    http://crimsonsundown.com/Breaking%20Stuff%20Notes.pdf

It doesn't really contain any new information, honestly-- just a quick, scientific analysis of the basic points we already knew about Breaking. It briefly explains exactly why the peculiar cut of boards for Karate make the board easier to break, and why it isn't surprising that concrete can be shattered by human strikes.

--Joe

Heavyweight

Posted On:
    11/14/2007 12:38pm

supporting member
     Style: white boy jiujitsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Can you ask your friend why he believes the typical cinder blocks used in karate breaking are anisotropic?

Guess which finger is the fickle one...

Posted On:
    11/14/2007 1:16pm

supporting member
     Style: Karate/ Arnis

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Comparative to wood and cinderblocks at 1" and 2" respectively,

How much sheer strength and tensile strength does the human bone have?

specificly the flat bones of , let's say, ones face?

:XXbirdman
    If you can't laugh at yourself,
    Others will be happy to do it for you. :evil6:

The 2 most abundant elements in the universe are hydrogen and stupidity.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/14/2007 1:23pm

Style: Judo/BJJ

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!