Administrator

Posted On:
    11/10/2007 8:47pm

staff
     Style: xingyi

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

PT for youngsters.

I've notice quite a bit of good information in here. I tend to not post because my knowledge pertains to swimming and that is about all.

As you can see my question would be what would be a good workout that my sons, soon to be 9 and 10, would do for football.

Maybe even one I can join in and get them motivated. I never lifted because it was never pressed at the time I was swimming. So, I basically got my strength from non equipment exercises.

My oldest is playing Junior Pee Wee. He plays free safety, punt/kick off return, full back, running back pretty much anywhere off the line.

My youngest is on the line.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I figured I'd ask you guys because, I have some experienced people telling me my oldest is a natural and needs nurturing. If I can do that properly before I have to send him to camps (which made stuff not fun for me) maybe it will go somewhere.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/10/2007 9:17pm

Style: Wrestling, MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Everything I have ever been told about training youngsters suggests use of bodyweight exercises. Seeing as you said you got your own strength from non equipment exercises I imagine you would have a fair idea about creating a bodyweight training routine for your kids. It would also make sense to get your kids running. At young levels in sport, speed and fitness are normally the biggest factors on par with natural talent.

If you want some literature Children and Sports Training by Josef Drabik would be a good idea. I have never read the book but it comes recomended from Jim Wendler and that man knows his stuff.

The book can be purchased here:
    http://www.elitefts.com/

and the review can be found here:
    http://www.elitefts.com/documents/top_5_books.htm

Administrator

Posted On:
    11/10/2007 9:20pm

staff

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!