Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/09/2007 2:45pm

Style: PTK / MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Boxing for FMA

Similar to an earlier thread but different.

Recently started doing Modern Arnis. I love it, but my school only trains twice a week. So, I was thinking of supplementing it with boxing, mostly for physical training, but also because I thought it might be fun. Anyone have any experience with both and how well they might cross over or interfere with one another?

Posted On:
    11/09/2007 2:52pm

Style: Pekiti, ARMA, other stuff

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Western boxing forms a large portion of many filipino unarmed systems. I don't see why there would be any problems.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/14/2007 6:18pm

Style: FMA/MT

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Cant really comment on boxing per say, but Ive been doing FMA for a few years and MT and they work well together, you get a hell of a better work out and general conditioning from the boxing, the only problem comes with competitions, depending on the rules if you start wanting to attack the limbs etc. But for actual fighting they work well, and most importantly, boxing will teach you how to take a proper hit (something lacking from a lot of FMA i find)

Posted On:
    11/14/2007 6:46pm

Style: FMA, Jujutsu/Judo/SAMBO

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    They work quite well together. We do basic boxing in our FMA classes.

pro nonsense self defense

Posted On:
    11/15/2007 3:46am

supporting member
     Style: FMA, dumbek, Indian clubs

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    There's some interesting arguments for the modern boxing structure being influenced by panantukan when Americans came into contact with the Phillipines during the occupation.

Spear Sister

Posted On:
    11/15/2007 3:58am

supporting membersupporting member
     Style: Dancing the Spears

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!