Featherweight

Posted On:
    11/08/2007 4:15pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: leading with my chin

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Insomnia getting in the way of training/ trying to gain weight

I can't get a regular nights sleep for **** and it affects everything I do, obviously including training. I though getting in shape would set me straight and it's helped but I still can't sleep sometimes for days at a time. So what can I do? You guys seem reasonable, and the internet is chock full of contradictory advice.

I lift twice a week for an hour, box twice a week for two hours yoga every other day and at least 1 day a week of full rest. I'm thinking of upping my strength training in coordination with my coach. I've been lifting for about 3 months and boxing for one and I've seen good results but I'm sure they'd be better if I could rely on a good night's sleep. Is there something I can add to my routine that might result in more fatigue?

More cardio might be an answer but I'm trying to put on weight (5' 10" 135 lbs) and get into serious fighting condition. Also I'm trying to eat more to put on the weight, but if I eat ANYTHING after early bird type dinner time I'm wired all night. Is there a healthy bedtime snack that won't leave me feeling like doing push-ups at 5 AM?

I'm thinking about going back to Zopiclone (I think it's called Lunesta in the US). Are there any bad effects I should know about if I'm popping it long-term?

I see there are some insomnia threads, but none that I thought addressed my situation. Thanks.

blotter art.

Posted On:
    11/08/2007 5:49pm

Style: San Shou

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Ask a doctor, not a bunch of knuckleheads on the internet.

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/08/2007 11:03pm

Style: crappling

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    I'm not a doctor and I've never taken medication for insomnia so I can't speak about any of that, but having had issues with insomnia before here are some simple things I can recommend: