Sponsored Links Spacer Image

Registered Member

Posted On:
    11/03/2007 1:54pm

Style: *********

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

RyuKyu in Israel

Ok so I know that I started a thread on Bullshido here in my home town and talked some about RyuKyu before. The reason I didn't necromance that one is well, that is looked down on. It has been a while and I have plenty of new experience to share.

Their website is here:
    http://www.ryukyukenpo.org/

I have not been able to go to the RyuKyu dojo, not willing to pay the fee, for the "starter" classes. However my neighbor has a son, about 16, who is learning the deadly arts from one of their "Black Belts" who also happens to have a BB in some form of ninjutsu, but he claims that RyuKyu is now his main style.

So I have had the chance to observe several of his classes. I am not certain but I believe that much of the training methodology comes from television, and bad television at that. For instance I had always wondered why my neighbor's kid, at 16, is always complaining about his elbows. Then I understood, part of his training is to hold 15lb dumbells and through full speed, lockout, straight punches... simply he is being taught to hyperextend his elbow, and to do it at velocity with weight.

All training is pretty much TMA, lots of Katas, stances, they claim over 100 techniques... don't even get me started on the ineffiency inherent in that. However, none of it is done well. Let me state, I once took TKD(Moo Duk Kwan) when I was a teen, I achieved a red belt(2nd Gup, which btw was a 3.5 year committment, BB took 5yrs min), so I have a little bit of experience in understanding what is and is not technically correct in TMA. Neither this black belt, nor his student, have yet, in my estimation, to do a single kata or stance in what I would call anything nearing technical proficiency(I would have failed my Yellow Belt test) if I performed a front stance or horse stance the way those guys do... but hey to each his own.