Achievements:
    Veteran1000 Experience Points

Posted On:
    10/30/2007 12:12am

Style: Jujutsu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Studying Judo in Japan

So, I'm here in Japan and I have been searching for a good art to study (I'm really interested in the koryu, but can't find any in my area). I started training at the local Judo dojo, instead.

I have never studied Judo before, only had experience in a hybrid art and two other Japanese arts. At first, most of them were very cautious of me because of my background in those other arts. I find that I have a very difficult time getting them off their feet during randori by using any type of throw. They are just much better than I in that department. I think part of the reason is that most of the things I know how to do effectively are illegal in Judo and I get yelled at when I do them (I didn't know any of the rules at first). Most, if not all, joint locks are illegal, you can't touch the head at all, no grabbing limbs - only the gi, no striking, no atemi, it's really annoying. It seems like the only legal things you can do in Judo are variations on some leg sweeps, hip/shoulder throws, trips, and just basically pushing your opponent around.

But, I find that I excel at ground work. But, again, most of the stuff I know how to do is illegal. I've tapped my partner out a few times using some chokes and I got an armbar/choke on one time (don't know the name of the technique...basically from a guard position, trapping opponents arm in between your legs while getting a figure-four type of leg positioning around their neck and applying a choke with legs while also applying an arm bar).