Featherweight

Posted On:
    10/04/2007 9:36am

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

First Full Contact Spar Last Night

...and boy does my head hurt.

I've been training combat hapkido and bjj for a few months and didn't really like it as it wasn't "alive" enough (i.e. very little rolling). So, I joined an MMA gym. I guess last night was my fifth class. So far we'd only really worked on grappling (the coach's speciality). Last night we did stand up for the first time. We didn't use headgear and used MMA gloves. We were told to go full speed but to pull our punches and kicks.

I did okay against a taller guy who was my own weight and skill level. The coach then put me up against two of his better students. One was a tall lanky guy who was pretty quick. The other was a short stocky guy with cauliflowered ears. These guys beat the **** out of me. They were fair, but I was outclassed from the start and was basically a punching bag that blocked (somewhat).

I was not impressed with my performance...but I also wasn't impressed with my "heart". I let myself get beat out of the gate and would stop whenever a good blow was landed. The coach is regarded as a hardass who throws fresh meat in front of his real fighters. If the meat the lasts (or learns) he will be cultivated into one of the real fighters. I am pretty sure that I didn't impress anyone last night and that I'll be again placed in front of the better fighters to see if I'm gonna make it.

Here are my questions:

1) How do you mentally prepare yourself for getting hit in the face repeatedly?

2) How do you physcially prepare yourself? I remember seeing Joe Frazier do some work with a speed bag in which he would hit it, bob, let the bag hit him and then do it again...something like this is what I mean.

My reason for asking is, When I spar next time, I want to keep going. I don't want to
    have to stop, catch myself and go back at it again.