-
WARNING: BJJ may cause airway obstruction.
Achievements:- Join Date
- Aug 2003
- Location
- Long Island
- Posts
- 3,367
- Points
- 5,348

Posted On:
10/07/2007 3:59pm--
There's nothing about the system itself on any of the pages, and any mention of martial arts is accompanied by some fitness garble. No emphasis on fighting, then it's not martial arts.
Then again, they aren't telling you that they're going to make you an MMA superstar or badass street thug, just that you can use MA for fitness. The only problem I have with that is they shouldn't call it martial arts, it's basically Tae Bo. -
poser
Achievements:- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Location
- Lower Hudson Valley / Rochester
- Posts
- 1,987
- Points
- 8,031

Posted On:
10/07/2007 5:13pm
Style: punching bag / crew jitsu--
Well it's still martial. It's based on fighting and sort of relates to it, but they don't appear to be making any claims about their students' fighting ability. I guess you could call it an honest McDojo, as in it fits the traditional description of one without intending to be one.
-
--
Well it smells like crap and that gi the chap on the website is wearing is very painful to look at, but there's sod all substance about what they are teaching and what the combat-orientated benefits are claimed TO be. Given that 99.99% of martial arts make an implied or explicit claim to self-defence mastery, whether they teach good SD is clearly Bullshidoism factor.
Where can we get more background info on them?
BTW, personally I don't totally disagree with the gist of this article http://www.malsa.co.uk/adult/reports...ult/index.html but I do disagree with huge chunks of it and this leads me to believe that the org is at least partially bullshido.You are a total Douchbag. Train more, post nevermore.
FickleFingerOfFate -08-21-2007 08:59 AM
just die already.Plasma - 08-20-2007 11:45 PM
Aikidokkkkakkakakakaaaaa
Best MA website ever!!!!!: http://www.dogjudo.co.uk/ -
Registered Member
- Join Date
- Oct 2006
- Location
- UK
- Posts
- 556
Posted On:
10/08/2007 3:27am
Style: Aikido Ceteris Paribus--
Thanks. Yeah, the website used to have more info - I think the guy has a successful career in one MA or other - lots of trophies, and the statement was that if he can be that successful through self-discipline, he can teach your kids (and parents) to be the same - a highly dubious claim. The problem is, at a very young age, he is making claims of fitness ,weight loss, parenting skills (from a kid?) etc etc.
So the MA looks like a means to an end. Money?
Personally, I used to get fit and control weight etc. in order to do the MA. My experience is that it is mainly diet - you can put back all the calories you burn in any exercise session very easily - pizza and a few beers. And I didn't ask a young man about parenting my kids, either.
Like I say, I find this one hard to read. He's found a new angle to sell what he feels he knows, but I don't like the lack of information on him, the fees, etc. and the fact that you fill in a form for him to contact you, so he keeps total control over communication.
I've asked the local Trading Standards office to check him out. I'll let you know what I find.
If the guy is such a superb martial artist, somebody on this website should have heard of him? Anybody?Last edited by kiaiki; 10/08/2007 4:54am at .
-
Registered Member
- Join Date
- Sep 2007
- Location
- Glasgow, Scotland
- Posts
- 111
Posted On:
10/08/2007 6:57am
Style: BJJ/MMA--
http://www.malsa.co.uk/adult/reports...ult/index.html
That sends alarm bells ringing, especially number 6.
Talking in the vague terms he does makes it very difficult to pin him down on anything and that's a major pain but he's definitely trying to hide something and deserves to be investigated in some way.6. If they charge for your Martial Arts on a ‘Per Session’ basis you’re in the wrong school. This can mean only one of two things, firstly they aren’t intending on being around for long or secondly this is just a ‘hobby’ for them. Remember we are talking about introducing someone into your life that can potentially have a massive effect on your future. Don’t leave it to the amateurs – look for those who are professional, and charge a professional fee after all, we are talking about making an investment in your future. -
Registered Member
- Join Date
- Sep 2007
- Location
- Glasgow, Scotland
- Posts
- 111
Posted On:
10/08/2007 6:57am
Style: BJJ/MMA--
Double Post.
Also he seems to be pushing ideas on exercise and weight loss to take a personal trainer/nutrionist angle. I expecrt he's using Martial Arts to try and cover the fact he has no qualifications in nutrition, sports science or the like.
Having a look around the site it's difficult to find a contact email to ask him any questions. Only the free lesson link.Last edited by ShrekBJJ; 10/08/2007 7:01am at . Reason: Double post



Reply With Quote












Registered Member
Posted On:
10/07/2007 2:07pm
Style: Aikido Ceteris Paribus
MARTIAL ARTS LIFE SKILLS - EH??