-
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Sep 2007
- Location
- Finland
- Posts
- 797
- Points
- 1,675


Posted On:
10/01/2007 12:10pm -
Middleweight
- Join Date
- Feb 2006
- Location
- Staten Island, NYC
- Posts
- 1,421
Posted On:
10/01/2007 12:28pm -
Heavyweight
Achievements:- Join Date
- Jun 2005
- Location
- Dayton
- Posts
- 8,133
- Points
- 11,722




Posted On:
10/01/2007 3:32pm -
Senior Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Nov 2003
- Location
- austin, tx
- Posts
- 1,631
- Points
- 2,492


Posted On:
10/01/2007 3:42pm -
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Jan 2006
- Location
- Uppsala, Sweden
- Posts
- 532
- Points
- 667

Posted On:
10/01/2007 4:02pm -
Registered Member
- Join Date
- Dec 2003
- Location
- N.E. Texas
- Posts
- 310
Posted On:
10/01/2007 6:20pm
Style: TKD & BJJ--
Would you mind copying the text of that letter into this thread so we can see what you linked them to? Linking them to the articles & investigations is quite a bit different from giving them a blanket www.bullshido.net link, I would think.
Originally Posted by ok kid
Checking out his new website (www.stillwatercombativescenter.com) doesn't yield much information yet, though it's a work in progress. It seems Coda has stepped back slightly and is turning over more credit to the other instructors in his group - whether this is a result of him trying to deflect attention or he actually is starting to develop a sense of his own illegitimacy as an instructor, it's a positive development.
The group's mission statement seems to have remained the same: "We'll take anyone, regardless of talent or ability to pay" (a philosophy I think BodyWorks may take issue with). They're still working the Christian angle, as well as the babysitting angle.
I have been following the site for a couple days now, since it looks like it just went up very recently (I was visitor #14 two nights ago, if that gives you a clue)... I should note that his Senior Tae Kwon Do instructor is also his fabled "Freestyle Grappling" instructor. I forget if it was on an earlier revision of the website, or on his FaceBook site, but they did go the extra mile to make sure that the freestyle grapling is (paraphrased) "not any particular style of grappling, just what we've gotten out of books and tried on the mat." The guy seems like a nice enough martial artist and an honest fighter, hopefully he'll wise up and go elsewhere - I know for a fact that he already trains with the local college MMA team.
Speaking of which, the FaceBook page for his "True Power Martial Arts Academy" is still alive and kicking, and filled with interesting information & photos. Coda still manages to make Engrish look like Hooked on Phonics.
"Diluted, but still deluded," would be how I sum up Coda's latest self-reinvention. -
--
You can discuss the article on the newspaper' forum. It requires a non-mainstream/non-free email (they don't allow Hotmail etc else I'd be on there): http://community.cnhi.com/eve/ubb.x?...272214137.html
Last edited by Fantasy Warrior; 10/01/2007 10:45pm at .
You are a total Douchbag. Train more, post nevermore.
FickleFingerOfFate -08-21-2007 08:59 AM
just die already.Plasma - 08-20-2007 11:45 PM
Aikidokkkkakkakakakaaaaa
Best MA website ever!!!!!: http://www.dogjudo.co.uk/ -
Style: Muay Thai--
Okay, sorry I didn't catch this thread sooner. I've been busy following the Antonillo -vs- Rudy thread LOL. But I've emailed the editor of that newspaper. Here's what I sent to him/her:
What do you guys think? Hope that was okay. Tactful, professional, correct, and all that stuff. Hope this helps you guys out.Dear Sir/Madam:
I am typing this email NOT to get published in the paper under the “Letters to the Editor” section. But rather to alert you as the editor to your recent article regarding Coda Scott and the Stillwater Combatives Center - http://www.stillwater-newspress.com/finance/local_story_272214137.html?keyword=topstory. I am submitting this email to alert you that not all is as it seems with Coda Scott.
But first, a SMALL blurb about myself: I am a member of a well-known website dedicated to the exposure of frauds in the Martial Arts – http://www.bullshido.com, which also has a sister site, http://www.bullshido.net. This site is dedicated to the exposure of frauds in the Martial Arts. And we have a strong conviction towards that goal. Now mind you, we don’t just randomly go after martial artists that are poor, mediocre, or “less-than-perfect” in the eyes of the competing world. What we do go after are people that take money from those that have limited knowledge of the martial arts, and that trust them, and then TEACH substandard techniques. Making them believe that they are learning techniques that will enable them to successfully defend themselves. Only for those people to find out the hard way (and I do mean HARD) that they have been learning crap (excuse my bluntness). Especially if said students end up getting seriously hurt, or even killed.
The point I am coming to is this: Coda Scott has been the subject of our investigation several times. And has been confirmed as a fraud. We have TONS of evidence to support this. But don’t take my word for it. See for yourself:
http://www.bullshido.com/articles/coda-scott.html - the official article about the investigation of Coda Scott
http://www.bullshido.net/forums/showthread.php?t=49858&highlight=Coda+Scott – an interview one of the judges on the panel investigating Coda Scott taped with a former student of his
http://www.bullshido.net/forums/showthread.php?t=58775&page=7&highlight=Coda+Scott – another thread regarding one of Scott’s later attempts at recruiting new students
http://www.bullshido.net/forums/showthread.php?t=54611&highlight=Coda+Scott – a more recent thread centering around a grand opening event he put on, that I PERSONALLY witnessed firsthand
http://data.oklahomacity.bbb.org/commonreport.html?bid=90004603&language=1&bureau=& bbbid= - this is a report listing two complaints agains True Power Martial Arts Academy, Coda Scott’s old martial arts school
These are just a few places where there is evidence that Coda Scott is not all that he says he is, and that he misrepresents himself in order to make himself seem more credible, in order to get money from people. If you search either the Bullshido website or even a regular commercial search engine (i.e. Google), you will see even more. Now, know that I do not have a personal vendetta against him. I only met him once, and very briefly at that. I have NEVER been his student, not even briefly. I am sending you this because while he may seem like a nice, wholesome guy, that doesn’t change the fact that he is still a fraud. That he is misrepresenting himself in order to gain money from people under false pretenses. And that he is dangerous to those that trust him to teach them proper self-defense. He has no business teaching something he does not fully understand. He is not qualified to teach. That’s all there is to it.
Anyway, I am sending this to you in the hopes that you will print this side of the story. So that those that are less-informed about this matter will no longer be less-informed. So that they can make better-informed decisions, and think about who they choose to do business with. Not just re: the martial arts, but of any sort. I believe that that is the duty of any newspaper: to provide information to the public so that they can make informed decisions for all aspects of their life.
Thank you for your time in investigating this matter.
Sincerely,
*FULL NAME EDITED OUT*
P.S. My screen name on the bullshido.net forums that I posted the links to is Adon4Ever, in case you’re wondering.
Josh -
Registered Member
Achievements:- Join Date
- Dec 2005
- Location
- Houston, Texas
- Posts
- 106
- Points
- 170

Posted On:
10/02/2007 9:17am



Reply With Quote














Featherweight
Posted On:
10/01/2007 11:37am
Style: MMA
Oklahoma: Coda Scott is at it again - A fluff article in the Stillwater NewsPress