Featherweight

Posted On:
    9/27/2007 11:52pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Researching

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

So...here is what I ask every school:

Yeah, I'm a newb, tear me a new one all ye like fellers.

Anyways, like I've said in other thread I'm looking to get back into it (boxed for 2 years as a teenager and willingly express my ineptitude here) . I want to know if you guys agree with the line of questioning I was forwarding to potential groups. I state that, in no particular order, the following are important to me.

1. Live training: I figure that if you have no resistance in training you can't be comfortable with your art in a realistic situation. You need to know how your own body works in contact with someone trying to stop it. If I spend years studying a martial art, I want to know I can depend on it in a situation when an individual wishes me harm. I don't want to ever leave myself in a position where I'm thinking "I hope this works".

2. Respect: No hot heads. I don't want to join a group of self-cultivated egos. I'm primarily there to learn, not to be shown what I can't do (verbally, physically, or emotionally).

3. Flexibility: I played AAA hockey for 10 years, dislocated my shoulder while boxing, and basically felt sorry for myself for another 7 years and let myself get out of shape. I'm fully ready to commit to training, and I want to be pushed again...but not forced. With a group of advanced students, will I be allowed to progress at my own rate without being looked down upon (see question 2)?

4. Tradition: With what little I know and, as student of history, I feel that, however impractical, a certain level of respect must be maintained for the history of the art. Is this in any way provided by (insert group here).

Basically I'm wondering if those four sets of questions will generate bullshido answers if the group is full of ****?

Featherweight

Posted On:
    9/28/2007 12:03am

Bullshido Newbie

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!