Page 1 of 3 123 Last
    Style
    BJJ, HEMA
    --
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

My name is Joe, and I'm a noob.

Hi, guys--

I'm new to Bullshido. Always loved MA, though I haven't too terribly great an amount of personal experience as yet.

I've been a sport fencer for 6 years-- started when I was a freshmen in college, fencing NCAA as an Epee. I'm one of those weirdos that still loves the Italian grip, and spends assloads on blades from Negrini, in Italy, as a result.

Also, while in college, NJIT offered a course called "Shotokan Karate-do for Personal Fitness and Well-Being." I'd always wanted to learn a Martial Art, but never had the opportunity up till then, so I took the course. It was one semester, and one credit. Taught mostly just basic Kihon, and the Taikyoku kata, but the thing that really stuck in my mind was the warm-up exercises.

Sensei Lonnie Jones didn't care that this was just a one credit course. He didn't care that gym class is supposed to be easy. He didn't care that we could have taken racketball instead. He worked us, and he worked us hard. I was in the best shape of my life when I took his course (thanks to his work-outs and my fencing 5 hours a day).

After the semester was over, I didn't have time to trek out to his dojo, so I let my interest in MA lapse for a bit. After a while, I stumbled across Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu. I'd never heard of it before, so I started to research it. I found out that Jack Hoban, who trained directly under Soke Hatsumi, teaches BBT about 20 minutes from where I live. I went and tried it for a couple of months, but decided it wasn't really my thing.