Featherweight

Posted On:
    9/08/2007 9:00pm

Bullshido Newbie
     Style: Isshinryu

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!

Bringing Aliveness back to Traditional MA's

Hi, I study Isshinryu Karate in Granite Bay (Sacramento), CA at Joslin's East West Karate.

Back in the day, Masters Joslin (yes, there's two of them, Dave and Ron) had their black belts do a lot of full contact sparring in competition and in the dojo. When they trained, they did so bare knuckle, outdoors.

Now, black belts don't compete full contact anywhere near as often as they did ten years ago. Most of the competition the underbelts do is point sparring (which I have a lot of experience in). I believe the change happened when they expanded their dojo, from having a few dozen guys (in their 20's and 30's) training out of garages to having a few hundred people (of all ages) in two permanent dojos.

We do continuous sparring, and a few locks and takedowns with resisting opponents (not as much as BJJ, however), but I wouldn't consider our traning to be "alive".

How might I approach my instructors if I wanted them to revert to the old ways, which were much more alive?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/08/2007 9:41pm

Style: Wrestling, BJJ n00b

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Go up to him, start cursing at him, and try to kick him in the face. You'll get some good aliveness like that.

Posted On:
    9/08/2007 9:50pm

Join us... or die
     Style: Judo

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    If you really want aliveness you have to ask yourself why you are hanging around Isshin-ryu clubs. What did you have in mind for alive training?

Registered Member

Posted On:
    9/08/2007 10:23pm

Style: MM to tha A

--
    Hell yeah! Hell no!
    Cut out the middle man and go straight to MMA. It's going to end up looking like MMA anyway, only minus the technical skill.

That's all I realized from watching people try to bring "alivness" into their TMA. Cut out the middle man.

Posted On:
    9/08/2007 11:20pm

Style: Bjj